Special Election (May 14, 2024)

A special election has been declared for Hennepin County Commissioner District 6 and will be held on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.

Absentee and early voting will be open from Friday, April 12th to Monday, May 13th.

Primary Election (April 30, 2024)

Because more than two candidates are running, a primary will be held on Tuesday, April 30, 2024 (polls open 7AM to 8PM), with the top two vote-getters advancing to the special election.


Candidates had until March 12 to submit required paperwork to the county auditor, and several did withdraw before the March 14 deadline.

The final six candidates are:

...and five others who are prominently featured on D-F-L websites:

...including one who is actually the partner of current Hennepin County Attorney, Mary Moriarty, and has said she would recuse herself from any (likely important) matters involving Ms. Moriarty.

Where/What is Hennepin County District 6?

A significant portion of Senate District 45 is within Hennepin County's District 6 (with the westernmost portion lying in District 7). Check out the Polling Place Finder to confirm how and where to vote and which Hennepin County District you're in.

6th district map